Party of One?

The Other Jennifer Potter

I am an introvert. No matter how wonderful you are, you wear me out. We can have a fabulous time together, but I am still going to need a break from you eventually. It took my spouse a long time to learn not to take this personally. Even the most wonderful people (like my husband) and the most enjoyable times (typically involving beer or wine and fabulous food) deplete me, and I need to be alone in order to refuel.

In spite of this, I learned a crucial lesson several years ago: I am a better human being having a network of people that I am close with, vulnerable with, honest with. While it felt counterintuitive at first, I knew it was true. Alone, I am limited to my perspective and prone to self-centeredness. With others, my understanding is broadened and my capacity to love increases.

If you are fortunate to have people…

View original post 102 more words

Leave a Reply

