Walking my way through shyness, one “good morning” at a time

elizabethly

I’ve dealt with shyness for as long as I can remember. I have always had social anxiety and a strong disinclination to speak with people I don’t know well. I’m also a classic introvert.

I’m working on being more balanced. Overcoming my shyness is proving to be a lifelong exercise. I am practicing, and I am getting better.

My morning walks have helped me to learn how to switch my extraverted persona on and off. I continue to find that the earlier I walk, the easier and more pleasant it is to interact with other folks around town and in the park.

New Englanders do not have a reputation for being gregarious or approachable. If you can get them to talk, they are often kind, but that can be difficult. Sometimes, a smile is the best you can hope for.

Going earlier is better for me, because as I push…

View original post 516 more words

Leave a Reply

